Page 69 of 110 FirstFirst ... 1959676869707179 ... LastLast
Results 681 to 690 of 1096
  1. #681
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles, California, United States
    Posts
    10,021
    Plugin Contributions
    32

    Default Re: Image Handler 3 Support Thread

    I believe that Athena is using one of those little known/used features of IH3 I eluded in the IH2 thread.. You can upload a completely DIFFERENT large or medium image for the same product via the IH3 interface.. It is entirely possible that when using this function images are NOT in fact served from the IH cache folders..
    Quote Originally Posted by DarkAngel View Post
    ok, yes you upload the largest sized image only and IH3 takes care of resizing them all according to how you have your sizes set in images settings.

    you can upload more than one image for your product -- like to show a different angle if needed, or color for instance -- just upload the additional images with the same name as the first but appending the _01 with consecutive numbers for each additional image then they will all show up on the product page.

    You can upload all images to the main Images folder or sub folder them your own way in the main images folder.

    If it is showing you the link from the bmz_cache folder then yes it is working as it should...those are the optimized ones that IH3 created to cut down on render time for the page.

    I hope that is what you are asking.
    Athena, I think it will help everyone participating in the discussion if you could provide an example of a product in your store where you are using different images for the small, medium, and large. I didn't have to patience to hunt one down myself..
    Quote Originally Posted by Athens Collectibles View Post
    Thanks for the above reply to the IH2 Support Thread. I have now installed IH3 and use 3 different images (small, medium, large) for each item.
    Last edited by DivaVocals; 22 Dec 2011 at 11:24 PM.
    My Site - Zen Cart & WordPress integration specialist
    I don't answer support questions via PM. Post add-on support questions in the support thread. The question & the answer will benefit others with similar issues.

  2. #682
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Athens, Greece
    Posts
    292
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Image Handler 3 Support Thread

    I will explain and give an example tomorrow. Sorry but it's already one in the morning in my part of the world.

    PS. It is George, not Athena or Athens

  3. #683
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Athens, Greece
    Posts
    292
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Image Handler 3 Support Thread

    OK, back now.

    To give you an example: go to home page, scroll down to the New Products section in the centre column and see the thumb for the product Pinnacle PCTV Stick. Hover over to see a completely different medium size image. Click to go to the product page and then click on the product image (the medium sized image). The popup shows a different large image.

    So far, we have seen three different images, the small, medium and large. Examining their source, I see that the small and medium images load from the respective subfolder within the images folder. However, the large image loads from the IH cache folder. The same does NOT happen with other products where no image is loaded from cache. I can not explain why one image is and another is not loaded from cache.

    As I said, this doesn't cause any problem and I'm happy the way it works. The reason I'm loadng three images rather than one is simple: First, I don't want to get confused by not following a standard method for all items even though the basic image is the same sometimes. Second, as my items are unique, I just replace the small image with a similar one having the SOLD OUT banner on top once something is sold while the medium and large images remain the same. This is of course something that I could not achieve if I followed the IH principle of loading one image only.

    I don't use additional product images in the traditional IH way, something that could be handled by adding the _01, _02 etc to the file name. Instead, I have a tabbed index in every product description with one of the tabs named "additional images", "more pictures" or something similar, where many more images are presented by inserting links to them in the HTML. An example is here: http://www.athenscollectibles.info/i...&products_id=3

    I hope that I have explained my setup and it's up to you to decide whether it is very unorthodox or not. It works fine for me.

    Wishes for a happy Christmas weekend to everyone if I don't hear from you again.

  4. #684
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Athens, Greece
    Posts
    292
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Image Handler 3 Support Thread

    Quote Originally Posted by niccol View Post
    While I agree entirely with what scriptjunkie says about extraneous code there are perhaps a few exceptions.

    I haven't looked at this really closely but the line of code is 'sanitising' the alt tag before it is output. What that means effectively is that it is removing the double quotes from the alt tag if they are there. Why? Well if you think of an image tag:

    Code:
    <img src="whatever" alt="alt-text"/>
    you can see that if the alt-text contains a double quote like this ( alt"-"text ) then you are going to end up with poorly formed html. Something like:

    Code:
    <img src="whatever" alt="alt"-"text"/>
    which means that the double quotes in the image tag are messed up.

    That is just an example, htmlentities turns a list of characters into their html entities. It is often used for sanitising user input before it is sent to a web page both for practical and security reasons. Have a read of http://php.net/manual/en/function.htmlentities.php to find out more about what it does.

    Personally, I think it would be fine to make sure that all your image names do not contain any strange characters and then just comment out this line. But I am probably going to get seriously criticised for that comment Or you could write a bit of a replacement for htmlentities. Something like:

    Code:
    $alt = addslashes(str_replace('"','',$alt))
    Which just removes any double quotes but doesn't do anything else so is not nearly as complete a solution. So, you could write a much more complete bit of code that, for instance removed any characters that were not a-z or 1-9. Something like:

    Code:
    $alt= preg_replace("/[^a-zA-Z0-9\s]/", "", $alt);
    None of this is tested so.....
    I don't know if you will be criticised Nick, but your post #676 saved me the trouble of deleting thousands (literally) entries from the cache folder every day.

    I'm using character set ISO-8859-7 (Greek) and accidentally found that there were about 25000 error logs in my cache folder created within less than 10 days from installing IH3. Your reply prompted me to risk and try in a test environment and it worked with two small variations. I replaced line 690 from:
    Code:
    $alt = addslashes(htmlentities($alt, ENT_COMPAT, CHARSET));
    to
    Code:
    $alt = addslashes(str_replace('"','\'',$alt));
    after I restored the missing semi-colon at the end and replaced the empty string with a single quote. So, alt tags with double quotes became alt tags with single quotes and the logs are not produced any more. For some reason, the script also changes the title tag.

    Many, many, many thanks for your idea and wishes for a nice Christmas and a happy New Year.

  5. #685
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    6
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    help question Re: Image Handler 3 Support Thread

    Hi,

    First of All, Thank you for such a great module. It is really life saver :))

    Although everything is great, i have a question to ask regarding attribute images. I will be using attribute checkbox images to show list of available add-on of my product.

    Problem is that attribute images will take a lot of spaces as i will place a lot of them for a product. I tried attribute image pop-up module. It really servers the purpose but since i have your module installed, i want them to be visually same.

    Instead of using pop-up to show larger attribute image, how can i use your mouseover box which shows medium images? Box appears as mouse cursor is over the image and closes as the cursor away from the image.

    Thank You very much in advance.

  6. #686
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles, California, United States
    Posts
    10,021
    Plugin Contributions
    32

    Default Re: Image Handler 3 Support Thread

    This question is not related to support for this module.. You should re-post it in the forum. IH3 does not manage attrubute images..

    Quote Originally Posted by BuRocKNRoLL View Post
    Hi,

    First of All, Thank you for such a great module. It is really life saver :))

    Although everything is great, i have a question to ask regarding attribute images. I will be using attribute checkbox images to show list of available add-on of my product.

    Problem is that attribute images will take a lot of spaces as i will place a lot of them for a product. I tried attribute image pop-up module. It really servers the purpose but since i have your module installed, i want them to be visually same.

    Instead of using pop-up to show larger attribute image, how can i use your mouseover box which shows medium images? Box appears as mouse cursor is over the image and closes as the cursor away from the image.

    Thank You very much in advance.
    My Site - Zen Cart & WordPress integration specialist
    I don't answer support questions via PM. Post add-on support questions in the support thread. The question & the answer will benefit others with similar issues.

  7. #687
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    107
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Image Handler 3 Support Thread

    Hi there,

    I am using Image Handler 3 and have successfully added a watermark to all large images. The issue that I am facing is that my attribute images that appear large on hover do not have the watermark. Does anyone know if a watermark can be achieved for attribute images that expand large on hover?

    Thanks

  8. #688
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles, California, United States
    Posts
    10,021
    Plugin Contributions
    32

    Default Re: Image Handler 3 Support Thread

    Quote Originally Posted by jcrewe View Post
    Hi there,

    I am using Image Handler 3 and have successfully added a watermark to all large images. The issue that I am facing is that my attribute images that appear large on hover do not have the watermark. Does anyone know if a watermark can be achieved for attribute images that expand large on hover?

    Thanks
    IH3 does NOT manage with attribute images..
    My Site - Zen Cart & WordPress integration specialist
    I don't answer support questions via PM. Post add-on support questions in the support thread. The question & the answer will benefit others with similar issues.

  9. #689

    Default Re: Image Handler 3 Support Thread

    Quote Originally Posted by jcrewe View Post
    Hi there,

    I am using Image Handler 3 and have successfully added a watermark to all large images. The issue that I am facing is that my attribute images that appear large on hover do not have the watermark. Does anyone know if a watermark can be achieved for attribute images that expand large on hover?

    Thanks
    This is probably off topic for this support thread...but I'm curious....

    Adding to what Diva said...since IH3 doesn't manage attribute images...how are you getting them to enlarge on hover in the first place? If you're using an attribute mod for that purpose....that's the place to go for support to have them help you figure out how to create watermarks using their mod.
    Last edited by ScriptJunkie; 30 Dec 2011 at 06:26 PM.
    Go that extra mile, you never know what's at the end of the road

    Empowerment Sanctuary

  10. #690
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    107
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Image Handler 3 Support Thread

    Quote Originally Posted by ScriptJunkie View Post
    This is probably off topic for this support thread...but I'm curious....

    Adding to what Diva said...since IH3 doesn't manage attribute images...how are you getting them to enlarge on hover in the first place? If you're using an attribute mod for that purpose....that's the place to go for support to have them help you figure out how to create watermarks using their mod.
    I'm a zen cart newbie so I'm not confident I'm going to give you the right answer...............

    I dont think the attribute images and hover have anything to do with IH3. In the images section under Admin there are some hover settings....maybe it has to do with that section?

 

 
Page 69 of 110 FirstFirst ... 1959676869707179 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. v150 Image Handler 4 (for v1.5.x) Support Thread
    By DivaVocals in forum All Other Contributions/Addons
    Replies: 1687
    Last Post: 17 Nov 2024, 07:26 PM
  2. AJAX IMAGE Swapper support thread
    By jaycode in forum All Other Contributions/Addons
    Replies: 785
    Last Post: 13 Jan 2016, 11:48 PM
  3. v138a Image Handler 2 (for ZC v1.3.8 ONLY) Support
    By timkroeger in forum All Other Contributions/Addons
    Replies: 7098
    Last Post: 12 Oct 2014, 03:48 AM
  4. Image Titles Support Thread
    By gjh42 in forum All Other Contributions/Addons
    Replies: 155
    Last Post: 9 Sep 2014, 04:51 AM
  5. Image Handler Support Please
    By nadinesky in forum All Other Contributions/Addons
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 30 Sep 2013, 03:47 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR